Timeglider – A slide through time

Do you remember the times in elementary school when we had to make timelines on paper?  Well, I do and they were awful.  Being someone with a little OCD about straight lines, these were stressful, especially when I did not have a ruler.  Luckily we now have the technology to have many different tools that can help those less talented with a pen.   Richard Byrne, the author of Free Technology for Teachers, posted an article titled Five Ways Students Can Build Multimedia Timelines that talks about five different timeline tools.

His post includes tools such as XTimeline, TimeGlider, Time Toast, TimeRime, and Dipity.  These are all great timeline tools to consider and for more information on them go to Richard Byrne’s blog post from above, but let’s look at Timeglider.

Homepage for Timeglider

Homepage for Timeglider

This is a nifty tool that allows us to look at time through another lens.  Although we think of these only being used for history, we can use timelines for many different topics. While most of the topics I looked at using this tool dealt with history, TimeGlider can be used for so much more.

Before I let you off easy to watch the YouTube video, I’d like to show you some useful aspects of Timeglider.  You can view my timeline by clicking the screenshot below. Within this you will be able to use the bar to the right to zoom in and out to view more or less of the timeline.

Click to view in Timeglider

Click to view in Timeglider

I created a basic timeline that includes the major events leading up to the signing of Declaration of Independence.  The reader and creator can sort items because of this neat feature that allocates a certain design to distinguish Acts from other events.  Another thing you

Size differentiation

Size differentiation

may notice in my personal creation is the size differentiation

between the “important” events and the “less important” events.  If you notice, the Tea Act is significantly smaller than the Declaration of Independence, which as we know is more important. If you take a close look after clicking on Boston Tea Party, you will notice the little link tab.  If you click on that you will be taken to PBS American Revolution Page.

One great thing with this tool is you can incorporate pictures along with your text.  You have three options when it comes to doing this.

Uploading or including a picture

Uploading or including a picture

First, you can upload your own personal picture. Second, you can import a picture using the URL. Finally, you can pick from the timeglider library.

Once you finish your timeline then you have a few options as to what you are going to do with it.  You can make it public and share with others or you can keep it private and have for your own personal use.

If you like reading, you should skip the video and take a look at the How it Works page on the Timeglider page. Watch the YouTube video below for further instruction.

A little unknown fact is that Timeglider is not free for everyone.

Pricing & Plan page

Pricing & Plan page

For pricing and types of plans one can have, instead of the free tool that I am using, you can use any of the two other listed options. For myself, I was able to use the free portion because that is open to undergraduate and younger students, but the company does need money to keep running the program. By using the free version you are subjected to limitations. Some include: the number of timelines you can create (3,10,500) respectively, the number of sub-users, the number of views a time line can have, collaboration amongst other students and having a legend to categorize your events with specific icons. All of these neat tools within Timeglider are open for paid members.  At the bottom of the pricing page, there is a little blurb that explains in detail why they closed the free version from  everyone other than students, as well as why they cannot use advertisements.

For some more information on Timeglider follow these links listed below:

Thank you all for taking the time to read, watch, and look at the other blogs.  I hope you will comment and ask questions as I will love to aid you as you create your own timelines.

This entry was posted in Cool tool, Creating, Organizing, Understanding. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Timeglider – A slide through time

  1. Victoria B. says:

    Great post, Aaron! As a student, I always hated creating timelines because they got crammed and messy with all of my writing and lack of ability to draw straight lines. This seems like it’s a great tool to help students create clean, organized timelines relatively easily. I especially like that they can include pictures as well. I think this is a better alternative than the traditional way of creating timelines. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Tabitha C. says:

    Drawing timelines were one of the worst things ever in elementary school, so this is a great fix. And I bet this tool will be awesome for you to use as a history teacher! Thanks, Aaron!

  3. Mary F. says:

    As a future history teacher I can see why you would really love this tool. I think it is a fantastic way for students to turn in actually legible and neat timelines. I can also see students outside of history using this tool to tell a story, what happened from the beginning to the end. Thanks for giving us such a cool tool we can use in the classroom Aaron!

  4. Maria H. says:

    Aaron, I love timelines! Seriously. I love having a visual to be able to picture the chronological events in a historical time period, and this tool does just that. Making it online would be super cool for students as well, so they can be come more technologically legible as well as learn about historical events. I loved reading this post. Thanks, Aaron!

  5. Katie H. says:

    Great post Aaron! I have always hated timelines because I never know how to space out the lines and I think they are so cluttered, but I think this tool could get me to like timelines. I like how neat it looks and all of the additional features that you can incorporate into your timeline making it so much more detailed. Students would love to do this as part of a history lesson or any lesson involving chronology. I can see myself using this tool in the future to help my students with organization on their timelines. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Sara R. says:

    Aaron, I really enjoyed your post as well as being introduced to this cool tool! I recall learning about different events in history class, but often getting confused about the sequence of those events, as my teachers rarely took the time to create a timeline, as it was a tedious process to do so in a word document, there did not seem to be enough room for the descriptions, and they would have to switch over to other documents to show other related media. However, with this tool, all the information stays organized in one place! I can definitely see this benefitting students in terms of allowing them to see the sequence of events more clearly. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Angie E. says:

    Nice work Aaron. I also bogged about a timeline tool, and yours looks like another great option. I lie that students and teachers could embed links to related content in order to make presentations more interactive and engaging. I also like that users can differentiate between more and less significant events by changing the sizes of each. That could be super helpful for students who get distracted by extraneous details and help your future high schoolers know what information will be on the test.

  8. Chelsea S. says:

    This will be perfect for you i your classroom as a history teacher! It’s hard to write neatly for timelines and I think this is a perfect way to have things organized and more professional looking. I’m not sure about you, but when my notes aren’t neat I don’t take the information as seriously as I do when they are neat. I really enjoy that it is interactive as well! It’s always helpful to have more information to go back to when you need a more thorough explanation for something.

Leave a Reply

