Sharing Your Google Calendar with Others

Have you and your friends ever wanted to easily share your calendars? Well, then this is the blog post to read.  We will see just how easy it is to connect with friends so we can plan for lunch or even just so we know where one another is throughout the day.  Below you will find a few nifty tricks on ways to share your calendar with friends, family, a group (students, faculty, ect), and the world if you so choose.

By viewing some of the videos on Lynda.com I have learned so much and hope that you will as well. I specifically looked a Google Calendar Essential Training – Chapter 6 Sharing Calendars with Others.  There are six videos that in total add up to fifteen minutes so watching this is not hard to do.

Adding a friends calendar

Adding a friends calendar

The first video, Opening someone else’s Google Calendar, talks about how to just view someone else’s calendar.  In order to view another person’s calendar you must have permission.  To get permission you must ask, and the screen to your right will appear by asking permission then your friend, co-worker, family can accept or deny.  Hopefully, he or she will accept allowing you to see there up coming schedule.  When the acceptance goes through their calendar will be layered on top of yours, but in a different color (this is sometimes a problem for me as I am colorblind).  This tool of opening someone else’s calendar can help us all to see what our friends are up to.

The second video, Subscribing to an ICS calendar, discusses how to add someone or something’s calendar if they are not a google calendar user.  This is known as subscribing to an ICS calendar (generic internet format). In order to do this, the person or company, must have a URL (the domain) that we can then add to the add calendar portion. A quick

Example of ical website

Example of ical website

example would be going to icalshare.com this is a website where you can find any type of calendar and subscribe to it. When you subscribe you go through the ICS process and then that calendar will be imported to your personal calendar.

The third video, Sharing your calendar with others, is sharing a personal calendar to other google users.  All you need to do is go to the sharing option and add their Google email and then decide on the permission levels. This includes: all event details or just

Adding the URL of friends

Adding the URL of friends

free or busy, allow them to edit or co-manage (aka they can share with others). Once this is complete and you hit save, then your calendar is shared.

The fourth video, Sharing google calendar’s with non-Google, users is a little more difficult, but still very possible.  Choose the calendar and then you will have to change the format under settings.  You will have to get the ICS (yes we are basically going back to the ICS format we did before), and you will have to email this private URL.  With this however there are restrictions on what the other person can do.  Actually, they are only able to see if you are busy or free.  If you ever feel that you need to switch you come back to this settings page and click rest private URL and it will invalidate the old ones.

We can also make our calendars public for everyone to see without having to give them permission.  This is simply done by going to the sharing settings, and checking the box at the top that says make this calendar public.  You can also, allow everyone to see your free and busy time so that if you are such a busy bee. Google will send them data not about what you are doing specifically, but when you are free and busy (this is an option not always the case).  This is done similarly to making it public, but with one extra step which is share only free and busy time.

The fifth video, Making a calendar public, discusses how to share it with the world. This can be done using either the Public ICS URL so they can download the events on their individual calendar or by getting an HTML web address, which will open the calendar in google for them to see. We can have different looks when embedding into a website, such

Hit the box and it will be public!!!

Hit the box and it will be public!!!

that if you only have a few events a month chose the agenda view (to limit the space it takes up), but if you have different events everyday then keeping the default setting of monthly view makes sense.

Finally, the sixth video, Embedding the calendar onto a web page, is amazing for all of us teachers down the road. For all calendar’s you have the ability to subscribe but do not necessarily have to be viewing them.  Along with hiding

Embed it in a website

Embed it in a website

calendars you can also unsubscribe from them and they will disappear from yours altogether.

Hopefully, this will help you busy bees and friends to coordinate times in which you can have meetings or even to just hangout.  I know I use my calendar and even put schedule time for what I like to call “Me time”.  These quick videos you, yourself can watch will make scheduling with friends that much easier.

For more information on calendar’s please check out Chealsea Rafetto’s Google Calendar: Sending and Responding to Invitations and Chealsea Semeraro’s Google Calendar: Changing the Layout and Creating/Editing Events. If there is anything you want more clarification please feel free to contact me and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Image | This entry was posted in Google Calendar, lynda.com. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sharing Your Google Calendar with Others

  1. B. Taylor says:

    I am a big fan of sharing in Google calendars. I like that I can share my personal calendar with family members and they can share theirs with me. I don’t have to see the other calendar all the time, but I can turn it on (on my computer or my phone) temporarily to check their schedules. I also like being able to create separate calendars for different audiences. For example if you look in Moodle at our course, I have embedded (in agenda view) a (public) calendar of our blog post schedule – it’s a separate Google calendar I made just for our class. I do the same thing if I schedule a series of workshops – for example for student teachers – put all the dates, times, and descriptions in a public calendar and link to it or embed it. They do not see my personal (private) calendar, just the one I made public, and they can subscribe to it if they want it to appear in their own list of calendars or add events from it to their calendars. What are some ways student organizations you are involved in are using or could use shared calendars? What about examples for the future when you are teaching?

    • Aaron M. says:

      The Teaching Fellows program uses this feature, but personally I do not have it showing up on my main calendar. Typically, I have it hidden and then every week I check to see if there is any upcoming events. As for when I’m a teacher I could use this feature to embed our class schedule onto our classes website and do things according to that. Hopefully, if I do this then the students will have the ability to if sick or missed class to check at home what was going on in class and what is due for next class. Overall, the google sharing ability is quite fascinating to say the least.

  2. Sara R. says:

    Great post, Aaron! As I have mentioned in another comment, and as you mentioned in your response to Professor Taylor’s comment, organizations that I am involved in, such as Teaching Fellows, have shared their calendar with me. However, since I do not make optimal use of this tool, I do not view the digital list of those events. In the comment I made to Chelsea’s post, I made a comment about how I am still using a hand-written agenda in order to organize such events, as I really see no reason, aside from saving time, to make the transition. But, after reading your post as well as your response above, I do see a reason: to benefit my students. Great post!

  3. Steph G. says:

    Great job Aaron! Your post was really informative of how to use and share Google calendars. I like that you talked about all the privacy features because I can imagine that sharing calendars could become somewhat dangerous at certain times, especially for students. I also liked that you talked about how to embed it into a webpage, which is much easier than I imagined it would be. I definitely see myself using a Google calendar on my webpage when I become a teacher, it is an awesome way to make sure students always have access to assignments and important dates.

  4. Winna P. says:

    Cool post! I never knew you could share calendars using Google Calendars. I agree with Steph, having privacy features is great and definitely needed! I’ve never used this feature before and may be missing out. Who knows what teachers or professors have shared their calendars with me! I will now have to check and see. In the future this tool will come in handy when working with younger students. I will be able to share my calendar with parents in order to keep them informed of my own and their child’s schedule.

  5. Katie H. says:

    Great post Aaron! Google calendars has always been a great feature, but I never use it as much as I should. As you have mentioned above, the Teaching Fellows use Google Calendars to share their events and other important information. I also have a Google Calendar for my sorority events. It’s very convenient for people to be able to share a calendar with a large group of people online, rather than handing out papers that will most likely get lost. I can definitely see myself using this tool in my future classroom by creating the calendar of events and sharing it with all of the parents or even with other teachers to compare lesson plans. Thanks so much for all of the great information!

  6. Victoria B. says:

    Nice post! I have never used Google Calendars before but after reading Chelsea’s post, I am now maybe more likely to use it. From what you’ve said, Google Calendar’s sharing feature sounds very interesting. This could be a very helpful tool for me. Even though I’m in college, my mom still wants to know what I’m doing all the time. Using this tool, I could create a calendar, send it to her, and I’d be good to go!

  7. Chelsea S. says:

    Great post Aaron! I have never ran into the need of having to share my calendar with someone but as I read your post I thought of all the different ways that sharing calendars would make my life easier. Scheduling times to Skype with friends who go to different University’s is hard to do so sharing our calendars with one another would make it easy for us to figure out a time that works for both of us on our own times! Another way that sharing calendars would help me is for clubs. Instead of having to send out e-mail reminding everyone what is happening on a certain day, I can just create a calendar and share it with members for the information to show up right in their calendars! THank you for such an inspiring post! I will definitely have to start using this!

  8. Alexia M. says:

    Aaron, I knew that I could share my Google Calendar, but I never really realized what the purpose of that would be for until reading your post! There have been times where professors have wanted to meet with me or advisors, and during this discussion of when to meet we sent multiple emails back and forth saying when we are busy and free and comparing these times. It would have been so much more simple for me to share my calendar with them so that they could compare their own schedule with mine, rather than sending multiple emails trying to decipher a meeting time that works for both of us. I didn’t know that you could embed a google calendar either. That will certainly be helpful as a future teacher! Great post!

  9. Tabitha C. says:

    How cool that Google can tell your friends when you are free and when you are busy. I know if I was trying to schedule a visit with my parents and they wanted to see when I would be free, giving them all the specific meetings and events would make them very confused and alarmed at how busy I am, but just giving them the free time would help a lot! As I said in my last comment, I think I will start using Google Calendars now. Thanks!!

  10. Angie E. says:

    Hey Aaron, good job! I don’t use Google Calendars so I’ve been learning tons this week! I can see the share feature being super helpful for keeping the parents of our future students up to date on our schedule and giving them a good overview of the year. Thanks for pointing out the embed feature too. For my life right now I know it would be helpful if my boss and I shared calendars so we could schedule times to meet without having to email back and forth several times. Thanks again!

  11. Anna B. says:

    Hey Aaron! Great post!! I do not use Google calendar, but I think I will start! I love that you can share calendars with others. I just think it is the coolest idea ever and I have never heard of it before. I definitely did not know you could embed a Google calendar either, which will be so helpful as a teacher to post due dates and events for students and parents to see! I like that you can share the calendar with someone even if they do not have a Google account. Your post really brought light to the ways that sharing a calendar is beneficial, and I love it! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Laura H. says:

    I had to share a google calendar I created with the other players on my club basketball team a few weeks ago, and I wish I had read this first! This post is awesome and is very thorough in its explanation of the sharing process. Maybe I will make calendars more often now!

Leave a Reply

