Google Calendar: Sending and Responding to Invitations

In the Lynda.com course entitled Google Calendar Essential Training, chapters 2 (Creating and Editing Events) and 3 (Responding to Invitations) go over inviting guests, viewing responses, and responding to events. Google calendars are convenient when scheduling events with schedules in view to invite guests and respond to events. There are a total of 6 videos, spanning 19 minutes and 40 seconds, pertaining to how to send and receive invitations.

Prior to responding and sending invitations look at Chelsea S.’s blog post about Google Calendar: Changing the Layout and Creating/Editing Events.

The video, Inviting guests to an event, will explain how when you invite a guest they will get notified through their calendar about the event. If a recipient does not have a Gmail account they will get an email with a link for them to use in order to respond. To make an event optional or mandatory for a guest(s) can be easily done through details in adding guests.

Guest List

How to add guests to your list

Once a guest responds to the invitation they can modify the event, invite others, and see the guest list depending on how much access the event creator gave his or her guests. More ways as to how a guest can edit an event is described in the video.

The video, Viewing a guests availability shows how to make inviting guests easier. There is a way to view a person’s calendar only if they have shared their calendar. Also look at Aaron’s blog post on Sharing Your Google Calendar with Others. The video explains how calendars can be shared as well as how many calendars that can be viewed and compared at one time. Once all of the schedules are compared, spaces will be shown as available times to have the event so that everyone can attend. Ways to limit the amount of people whose calendars will be compared is also explained in each video.

Responding to invitation

How to responding to an invitation on your calendar

The chapter 3 video Responding to an event invitation shows it is much more simple than it may seem. The video will explain how to respond in two different ways.

You can reply quickly or go further into the invitations for more details such as to change your status of the event. Depending on how much a guest can edit an event he or she can change the date, time, and description of the event.

Email Response

How an email response would look.

If someone does not have a google account, he or she will get invitations through their email. They can click on the invitation through their inbox and then respond. Details of the event will be displayed on the email and will be described in the video.

In the video viewing responses to your events in Lynda.com you will learn how to look up responses to your own event, if invitees have respond, and if they have declined the invite. In order to get a quicker response the video talks about how to send an email to those who have yet to respond and tell them that they need to respond ASAP or by a date.

Feel free to ask questions if you have any questions about the blog post, if the videos are hard to, or if you are trying to use one of the functions that I described. If you can think of any other features to sending and receiving invitations that may be useful, please write your experiences. For more helpful information go to Google calendar help for invitations.

This entry was posted in Google Calendar, lynda.com. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Google Calendar: Sending and Responding to Invitations

  1. B. Taylor says:

    So what do you all think? There are lots of ways to invite people to things – what have you used to send or respond to invitations – Facebook? online invitation services like evite? Others? For those who use Google calendar, what’s neat about Chelsea’s post is how easy and cool it is to get events/invites directly on calendars of you and your guests, and if details about event are updated, they update automatically on your calendars.

    • Tabitha C. says:

      I usually use Facebook because it is easy to find your friends to invite them. One flaw of Google Calendar invitations I think is if you do not know the person you want to invite’s email, particularly if they don’t have a gmail account, it can be hard to locate them. But, adding the events to your calendar is a huge plus…I often forget about my Facebook events because I don’t see reminders anywhere except Facebook. Maybe I will start using and encouraging my friends to use Google Calendar invites too!! Thanks Chelsea!

  2. Sara R. says:

    Chelsea–great post! I have received such invitations in my inbox before, but had no idea that they were a google-generated tool. I have noticed that Elon’s center for professional development uses them frequently when promoting career fairs, as does the school of education when promoting their E-SPLASH events. Again, as I have mentioned in other posts, I do not make effective use of my Google Calendar, so I had no idea that when I accepted those invitations, they appeared in that program.

    In regard to Professor Taylor’s comment, I frequently use Facebook as a means of inviting others to and hearing about events. As I am on Facebook probably more than I should be, it is a very convenient means for me to do such–and, the event appears in the upper right corner of the Facebook window once you have accepted the invitation and reminds you of it as the event gets close.

  3. Mary F. says:

    This post was very informative to me! I had no idea that you could invite people to events so I’m sure you can conclude I also had no idea how to accept or do anything else with invitations through Gmail. Knowing this information is very helpful though! I can see myself using this tool in the future as a teacher inviting parents through email to events in the classroom or that the school is holding. Thanks so much for this great blog post!

  4. Steph G. says:

    This tool is so cool! I had no idea something like this existed, but it definitely seems extremely useful and convenient. I think my favorite part of the tool is how it can decipher when the best time to have an event is by comparing others calendars. I like that it is available to people who do not use Google calendars, too. It makes it so much easier for people to RSVP to events and prepare a head of time. Awesome post!

  5. Winna P. says:

    Great post! I too never knew Google even had this feature. As I mentioned on the previous post, I’ve never used Google Calendar in general. This feature is really exciting though and since I am now going to start using Google Calendar as a whole, I can’t wait to use this tool! I usually just use Facebook or E-vite when inviting people to events. These two sources tend to be the sites that a majority of most of my friends and family use, but maybe in the near future we could all start using Google Calendar. Thanks so much for this information!

  6. Katie H. says:

    Nice post Chelsea! I had vague knowledge that there was such thing as invitations from Google Calendars but now that I know it is an amazing tool to use. It is so convenient to send an invitation based off of your calendar on your Gmail. I have used sites like E-vite which requires you to create the event and then send invitations, rather than Google Calendar which lets you create invitations for any event on your calendar. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will use this tool that much, maybe in my classroom for parent-teacher conferences, but most people our age check Facebook much more frequently than their email. Hopefully, I will be able to use this tool later down the line! Thanks again for the great post.

  7. Victoria B. says:

    Great post, Chelsea! I had absolutely no idea that Google Calendars could send event invitations! Like, Katie, I have used E-vite, but never Google Calendars. I think this is a good feature to use and it could be a bit more professional seeming than using a tool such as E-vite. Unfortunately, I doubt I’ll use this tool all that much because I don’t use Google Calendar and mostly rely on Facebook to create and share events. However, in the professional world, I may be more likely to use it. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Alexia M. says:

    Chelsea, I had no idea that you could send invitations through Google Calendar! There are always new things that I am learning about the technologies that I use. When it comes to creating events and inviting people to them, I normally use Facebook. However, if I wanted to invite professors or future colleagues, it may be more professional to use Google Calendars. Thanks for all this helpful information!

  9. Angie E. says:

    Great work Chelsea! Like Sara, I have received many google invites through the School of Ed and Professional Development Center. I haven’t used Google calendar so I’m not as familiar with the invite and RSVP tools. This is a great tool though! I can see this coming in really handy for inviting parents to school events when we are teachers and even for getting a large group of friends together for dinner. Thanks!

  10. Anna B. says:

    Hey Chelsea! This is so great! I do not currently use Google calendar, but after reading these posts I think I might! I love how easy it is to invite someone to something through this tool! Also I think it is super cool the if people have shared their calendar, you can see when that person is available without even asking them! I feel like that could be such a useful tool between teachers, because a group of teachers can use Google calendars and you can plan events or meetings around each other’s schedules! I also like that even if people do not have a Google account, they can still receive invites through their email. Thanks for this information!

  11. Chelsea S. says:

    This is awesome, Chelsea! I love using Google Calendar but I’ve never known about this tool. After reading more about it I think of how much time and stress my friends and I have wasted on planning something that Google could’ve easily helped us with! Thank you so much for showing this to me! I can’t wait to start using it.

  12. Laura H. says:

    Chelsea, first off I am honored that I was featured in one of your screenshots!
    This is an awesome post with very comprehensive details on the depths of Google calendar. I have received Google calendar invites in the past and I usual struggle with responding, but never again since reading your post!

Leave a Reply

